Jenny's House Warming

Back In February, Jenny was talking about buying a new house during a dinner at Fang’s restaurant. She was worried about how to handle a feng-shui faux-pas – the front door was in a direct line of sight with the back screen door. I saw first hand how she handled the issue when I was invited to her house-warming BBQ for her friends. As you can see from the pictures, she felt that taking care of situation was not necessarily a priority; perhaps even an old superstition.

I got to meet Jenny’s boyfriend, Stephane, for the first time. Stephane bought the house together with Jenny for approximately just over $400,000. It’s a steep price for a detached house, but with the current housing bubble in Toronto area, a house in the ‘Upper Beach’ area are certainly going for those prices!

The house is very roomy and comfortable. We got the grand tour right away and I was impressed with the modern layout. However, people who don’t like stairs will not like the 3 storey design. The house is right beside a railway system but the huge wall in the backyard is a great sound insulator. The trains are not a audio distraction at all. I got to hear first hand how the trains sound like running through, and they were really very quiet. f I were to live here, the potential noise would not be an issue for me.

We started the BBQ after the tour. Jenny made some very delicious mushroom tarts. I need to get the recipe, Jenny! She has had the house for almost a year now, but her brother Jack has not been in the house until today. Gee, I expect more from you Jack. Present at the BBQ were Jimmy, Jerry & Shallen, Richard & Rachel and a girl I’ve seen before but did not remember the name. Eric &Christina drove from Waterloo and joined us a little later.

We spent the enitre afternoon enjoying food, and some very delicious desserts! The conversation moved into the living room and we had an enjoyable time. I was stuffed with food and almost feel asleep on the comfortable hand-made sofa set.

I feel honored to be invited by Jenny to her house-warming. Many of my friends have moved into new dwellings but I have yet seen everyone’s new home. I’m not a busy body but I feel that you don’t quite understand a person until you’ve visited them in their home. I was glad to understand Jenny and Stephane a little more today.

2 thoughts on “Jenny's House Warming

  1. Hey Vince!!

    I got your Christmas card! Thank you so much and that’s really thoughtful of you to send us a card 🙂 I never knew you kept a blog so I just saw my housewarming pictures and post now 🙂

    Anyway, I’ll definitely be visiting your blog everyday from now on.. and we’ll have to meet up more often!

    Take Care,
    Jenny

Comments are closed.